top of page

The Year I Turn 21 - Ayra Star

31 May 2024: Today, GRAMMY-nominated global Afrobeats star Ayra Starr releases her much-anticipated sophomore album, “The Year I Turned 21”, alongside the new single ‘Last Heartbreak Song’ ft. Giveon, out now on Mavin Records. Download and listen on Ayra Starr is set to make her Glastonbury Festival debut on the Pyramid Stage in June.

“The Year I Turned 21” is Ayra Starr’s coming of age record, showcasing her most personal storytelling, alongside infectiously empowering anthems. Themes of growth, love, heartbreak and realising your power permeate the record, powered by a newfound artistic maturity that came from the whirlwind year the Gen Z singer-songwriter has had. 

The masterful body of work features ‘Commas’, the feel-good bop which has exceeded 100 million streams across all platforms in just two months and spent 5 weeks on top of the UK Afrobeats Chart, the soulful love song ‘Rhythm & Blues’, and the most recent single ‘Bad Vibes’ ft. Seyi Vibez, spotlighting Ayra Starr’s wise and mature nature alongside her signature, self-assured Afrobeats roots. 

The focus track for the album, ‘Last Heartbreak Song’, features US R&B heavyweight Giveon, who brings his distinctive vocal tone to this fiercely-independent anthem, alongside magnetic new tracks like ‘Warm Up’ ft. Asake and ‘Woman Commando’ (ft. Anitta & Coco Jones). 

Album highlights also include ‘The Kids Are Alright’ - the singer’s most personal song to date, written for her late father who passed away before she became ‘Ayra Starr’. It features voice notes from her siblings and mother. 

Ayra Starr speaks of her second album: “This is a coming of age story. The rollercoaster of emotions and genres intertwined tells the story of a 21-year old African girl and superstar.”

She adds: "21 isn’t just an age, it’s a moment of change in your life. A time of necessary growth, hurt, realising your power, love. Not everybody’s “21” happens at 21. Whenever it is for you; learn from it, feel through it.. that’s what matters. 

Following the release of her defining debut album “19 & Dangerous”, featuring the GRAMMY-nominated global hit ‘Rush’, Ayra Starr embarked on her first sold-out headline world tour in 2023, which spanned North America, Europe, Africa and Australia. 

All the while, the numbers keep climbing with “19 & Dangerous” now sitting at a staggering 500 million streams. Ayra Starr’s position as Africa’s hottest star saw her pick up her first GRAMMY nomination, making BBC's Sound of 2024 list, and being nominated for MOBO Awards’ Best African Music Act for the second time. 

She has collaborated with some of music’s biggest names including Wizkid, Stormzy, David Guetta, Kelly Rowland, Tiwa Savage, Aya Nakamura, Leigh-Anne and recently, marked her first Latin music collaboration - ‘Santa’ with Rvssian and Rauw Alejandro

The Year I Turned 21” album tracklist:

1. Birds Sing of Money

2. Warm Up ft. Asake

3. Commas

4. Woman Commando ft. Anitta & Coco Jones

5. Control

 6. Lagos Love Story

 7. Rhythm & Blues

 8. 21

 9. Last Heartbreak Song ft. Giveon

 10. Bad Vibes ft. Seyi Vibez

 11. Orun

 12. Jazzy’s Song

 13. 1942 ft. Milar

 14. The Kids Are Alright


Follow Ayra Starr:


bottom of page